welcome to the new iphone-develoeprs community. Register below to get started.

XDA Users Click Here New Users Click Here
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Installing only parts of themes?

Installing only parts of themes?

Im new to the Iphone, came over from android last weekend. I'm wondering if there is a way to install only parts of themes that I want, for example - I downloaded the imatte v5 theme and I love the icons, but not so much the rest of the theme. Is there a way to pull out just the icons / load only the icons? Been looking around but not having any luck.

Any body know how to go about this?

I'm not quite sure about this but I think that it's not possible. I think that the icons are included in the theme you use. perhaps, try looking for an App developer near you to create an app/theme that you want done.

I have found success in stripping elements from themes using SSH.
    Even themes downloaded from Cydia on your phone.

to get you started with SSH, download "Open SSH" from Cydia, then on your computer download an SSH editing program, I use the program FuGu on my Mac (Not quite sure if it works on PC) but a quick search of an SSH program will get you started.

You'll need the IP address of your phone, which is easy enough to find, go to your WIFI settings and click the blue arrow after the WIFI you are connected to.
    You'll then open FuGu, and input the IP, and the username as "root" instead of your computers name.
    Then it will ask for confirmation of connection, and ask for a password which will be "alpine"

You can then navigate through the individual files of your phone.